Academic Recovery and Engagement Plan

For students who have been placed on scholastic warning or probation, or who have been subject to dismissal, the University has developed a program to support their future academic success.

Required Student Actions Additional Information
Registration:

Students must plan to take no more than 14 credits of classes in the fall semester.

Students who are registered for more than 14 credits after the 10th day of classes will have their schedules revised by the University.
Academic Recovery and Engagement Plan:

Students must complete an Academic Recovery and Engagement Plan.

Link to the Academic Recovery and Engagement Plan form here
Mandatory Academic Recovery Meeting:

Students are required to meet with an Academic Recovery advisor in their academic advising or student services center to discuss the implementation of their academic recovery and engagement plan. Please make this appointment as soon as possible.

Academic Recovery advisor contacts are listed below.
Outreach and Engagement:

Students are encouraged to connect with offices on campus who can support their academic recovery.

Go to the Advising website for a list of academic and other student support services available. Your Academic Recovery advisor can also help you identify the resources most appropriate for you.

Additional Important Information to Keep in Mind

  • While on warning or probation, students may be subject to additional requirements and restrictions as established by their school, college, or regional campus. Therefore, early contact with an Academic Recovery advisor is essential so that students can begin working on a plan that will enable their future success.
  • Students who become subject to dismissal after failing to meet minimum academic standards for two consecutive semesters, and who appeal to remain at the University, will need to show that they have completed all parts of their Academic Recovery and Engagement Plan.
  • Students who have learning challenges, mental health diagnoses, physical health ailments, or other circumstances which impact on their ability to be academically successful will need to provide evidence that they are registered with the Center for Students with Disabilities (CSD). Should a student seek a late class withdrawal, or continuation at the University upon being subject to dismissal, these are considered academic accommodations and the University cannot support their request if they are not registered with the CSD.

All Campuses

  • Online Skills for Success course (HuskyCT). Please email Nicholas Delaney to register for the course.
  • The Major Experience – TME is an all-inclusive program that unites the best major exploration resources and allows students the opportunity to learn about potential majors, careers, and themselves.

Storrs

Avery Point

Hartford

  • Contact Academic Recovery advisor, Christine Mosman, for resources and requirements.

Stamford

  • Individual meetings with Academic Recovery advisors, Rawan Shilleh

Waterbury

  • Individual meetings with Academic Recovery advisor, Jamie Caruso

Please see the lists below to determine whom you should contact to schedule your Academic Recovery and Engagement meeting.

Regional Campuses Majors Office/Contact Email Phone
Avery Point All majors Trudy Flanery Trudy.flanery@uconn.edu 860 405 9024
All majors Nancy Steenburg Nancy.steenburg@uconn.edu 860 405 9191
All majors Noemi Maldonado Picardi Noemi.maldonado@uconn.edu 860 405 9219
SSS majors Aaron Collins Aaron.collins@uconn.edu 860 405 9013
Hartford All majors Hartford Academic Advising hartford.studentservices@uconn.edu 860 570 9310
Stamford All majors Rawan Shilleh Rawan.shilleh@uconn.edu 203 251 8484
Waterbury All majors Jamie Caruso Jamie.caruso@uconn.edu 203 236 9930
Advisor Majors Email Phone
Patricia Harkins All assigned advisees Patricia.harkins@uconn.edu.edu 860 486 1788
Micah Heumann All assigned advisees Micah.heumann@uconn.edu 860 486 1788
Jim Hill All assigned advisees Jim.Hill@uconn.edu 860 486 1788
Rosemary Hite All assigned advisees Rosemary.hite@uconn.edu 860 486 1788
Julie Lynch All assigned advisees Julie.Lynch@uconn.edu 860 486 1788
Sharon Mendes All assigned advisees Sharon.mendes@uconn.edu 860 486 1788
Kelli Petersen All assigned advisees Kelli.petersen@uconn.edu 860 486 1788
Harry Twyman All assigned advisees Harry.twyman@uconn.edu 860 486 1788
Patricia Harkins All assigned advisees Patricia.harkins@uconn.edu.edu 860 486 1788

All students on warning and probation, or who have been or who have been subject to dismissal, are required to meet with an academic recovery advisor.  For students in CAHNR and RHSA at the Storrs campus your assigned faculty advisor or the department designee will serve as the primary advisor for this meeting.   Once you have met with your assigned advisor to discuss your plans for academic recovery, your advisor will determine if you also need to meet with the Academic Advising Center.

 

Majors Office Email
Allied Health majors Allied Health Academic Advising Center Alliedhealth@uconn.edu
All other CAHNR and RHSA majors CAHNR Office of Academic Programs AdVapp
Majors Office Email Phone
All CLAS majors CLAS Academic Services Center clasasc@uconn.edu 860 486 2822
Majors Office Email Phone
All School of Business Majors Office of Undergraduate Advising undergrad@business.uconn.edu. 860-486-2315
Majors Office Email Phone
All Neag School of Education majors Office of Academic Advising Ann Traynor 860-486-1354
Majors Office Email Phone
All School of Fine Arts majors Student Advising Eva Gorbants 860-486-4571
Majors Office Email Phone
All School of Nursing majors Office of Admission and Enrollment Services Pam Cartledge 860-486-1701
Majors Office Email Phone
All Pharmacy majors Academic Affairs

Philip Hritcko

860-486-1701